Meditation

Meditation even in different schools of Zen is a little different. So in Japan (Soto and Rinzai schools) focus is mainly on posture and breathing, while the school Choge (Korean tradition) focuses on the state of mind. I myself was educated at the School of Kwan Um School of Zen relating to the Order Choge, and what I will talk about techniques of meditation is taken from personal experience.

About how to sit in Zen meditation, you can read the excellent article Sekida Katsuko "The practice of Zen" on page LIBRARY. There's even a pictures. Therefore, let us talk about how to "sit" intelligence during meditation.

First of all, do not fight with your thoughts, do not try to stop them or do something to influence them, for to stop your thoughts you you will use other thoughts. Thoughts come and go like clouds in the sky. If you do not pay attention to them, they are gradually depleted and the mind becomes pure. It's like a glass of troubled  water. If you do not touch the glass, haze settles and the water is purified. Thoughts feed on our attention to them. As soon as we estimate some of them (on a scale of "bad-good," "like-dislike," "want-not want"), they immediately took all our attention, and riding them, in a moment we are flying somewhere very far from the hall of meditation.

During the Zen meditation we do not close our eyes, as with closed eyes creative thinking turns on (pictures appear). To make automatic thinking less distracting, lower the eyelids leaving only slits. Just look all the sculptures and illustrations of the Buddha in meditation. His eyes are almost closed.

If, however, during meditation, you begin feeling too sleepy, open your eyes wider.

There are many methods ("spikes") to help at first not to fly away in your thoughts during meditation. You can recite the mantra. You can follow the breath, counting exhalations. One, two, three ... up to ten. Then again to ten, and again to ten, etc. Once you start to consider "eleven, twelve ...", it means you are already asleep.

Another very good way to keep your mind focused and calm:

Our hands during Zen meditation closed in a mudra on the point located two fingers below the navel. This is the center of our physical body, the center of the primary energy and the center of intuition. If you focus on this point, then after a while you can "hear" (feel) there the pulse of heart. At first just watch it, and when it becomes clearer, start following its blows to repeat some mantra. For example: "GA-GA-TE-TE-PA-RA-GA-TE-PA-PA-SAM-GA-TE-BOD-HI-SWA-HA.

While your mind is busy repeating the mantra, exhales count, or tracking puls rate, pay attention to the fact that you are awair of that. What makes the mind, watch for its activities.How do you follow? Who monitors if your mind is busy? Who are you? THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT!

Медитация


Медитация даже в разных школах Дзен немного отличается. Так в Японии (школы Сото и Риндзай) упор делается на позу и дыхание, тогда как в школе Чогэ (корейская традиция) основное внимание уделяется состоянию ума. Сам я воспитывался в Школе Дзен “Кван Ум”, относящейся к ордену Чогэ, и то, что я буду говорить о технике медитации взято из личного опыта.
О том как сидеть в Дзен медитации вы можете прочитать в прекрасной статье Сэкида Кацуки “Практика Дзен” на странице БИБЛИОТЕКА. Там даже есть иллюстрации. Поэтому поговорим о том как во время медитации должен “сидеть” ум.
Прежде всего, не боритесь со своими мыслями, не пытайтесь их остановить или как-нибудь на них воздействовать, так останавливать свои мысли вы будете другими своими мыслями. Мысли приходят и уходят, как облака на небе. Если на них не обращать внимания, они постепенно иссякнут и ум станет чистым. Это как замутненная вода в стакане. Если стакан не трогать, муть осядет, и вода очистится. Мысли питаются нашим вниманием к ним. Как только какую-нибудь из них мы оцениваем (по шкале “плохо-хорошо”, “нравится-не нравится”, “хочу-не хочу”), мгновенно она занимает все наше внимание, и, оседлав ее, мы уносимся куда-то очень далеко из зала медитации.
Во время Дзен медитации мы не закрываем глаза, так как при закрытых глазах включается образное мышление (пойдут картинки). Чтобы поток автоматического мышления меньше отвлекал, прикройте глаза так чтоб остались лишь щелочки. Обратите внимание на всех скульптурах и иллюстрациях глаза у Будды почти закрыты.
Если же во время медитации вас начинает одолевать сон, то откройте глаза пошире.
Существует много методов (“костылей”), помогающих на первых порах никуда не улетать в мыслях во время медитации. Можно читать мантру. Можно следить за дыханием, считая выдохи. Один, два, три… до десяти. Затем опять до десяти, и опять до десяти и т.д. Как только вы начинаете считать “одиннадцать, двенадцать…”, значит уже спите.
Еще один очень неплохой способ удерживать ум сосредоточенным и спокойным:
Наши руки во время Дзен медитации замкнуты в мудру на точке, находящейся на два пальца ниже пупка. Это центр нашего физического тела, центр первичной энергии и центр интуиции. Если сосредоточить внимание на этой точке, то через какое-то время можно “услышать” (ощутить) там биение пульса. Сначала просто следите за ним, а когда он станет отчетливее, Начните под его удары повторять какую-нибудь мантру. Например: “ГА-ТЭ-ГА-ТЭ-ПА-РА-ГА-ТЭ-ПА-РА-САМ-ГА-ТЭ-БОД-ХИ-СВА-ХА”.
Пока ваш ум занят повторением мантры, счетом выдохов, или отслеживанием пульса, обратите внимание на то, что вы осознаете, что делает ум, следите за его деятельностью. Откуда вы следите? Кто следит, если ваш ум занят? Кто вы? ЭТО ОЧЕНЬ ВАЖНО!